Sharing for Inspiration

IMG_4249Yesterday I decided to share my story on a Facebook Hashimotos support group. I was filled with joy from all the nice and encouraging comments from the ladies of this group. I wanted to share my story with them to encourage them not to give up on their battles with weight and fighting this disease in general. Little did I know that I would be shamed for ONLY losing 10lbs. I know for every 10 people who are positive on social media there are 5 who are complete assholes. But I brushed it off, because my journey has been hard and I have fought with every once of my body to get to where I am today.

My intentions were not to make anyone feel bad about where they are in their journey but to encourage and share my small success. To bring something positive to the group, as most the time all the post and comments are sad and depressing because everyone struggles with this disease. Its a silent battle for most of us and I know that.

A lot of the ladies had questions and wanted to know more about my success. As promised here’s a look into my nutrition, work outs and supplements for the past 4 months.

Nutrition:

Breakfast: 5 egg whites, 2-3 Jennio turkey bacon

Snack 1: 200 grams cucumber

Lunch : 1 serving veggies ( green beans, cauliflower, spaghetti spaghetti squash, yellow peppers) 4-5 oz chicken, 93/7 ground beef or 99% fat free ground turkey.

Snack 2: 4oz of tuna, 1 hard boiled egg, 1 yellow pepper.

Dinner: 5-6 oz chicken, ground turkey(99 fat free) or ground beef (93/7), 1 serving of veggies (Green beans, Baby tomatoes, Asparagus)

Snack 3 : 2 oz of ham.

I prepped my lunches ahead of time so that I would stay on track at work and not make bad choices. I got rid of all gluten and dairy in my home except for the bread my husband eats, but even he went gluten free for a few months until it became to expensive for the both of us to be GF. I also use MYFITNESSPAL to track my meals and stay on target, I don’t count calories, I count Macros and follow flexible dieting ( https://froggybrain.wordpress.com/2015/07/13/flexible-dieting-iifym/ )

If you join MYFITNESSPAL you can befriend me jbootz23 to see my food diary.

Work outs:

They varied depending on the day.  I would start slow to adjust your body to working out. My personal work outs were made by my husband who’s a personal trainer. I would search for a personal trainer that has experience with thyroid patients and if your lucky with Hashimotos patients. A trainer that hasn’t had clients like us before will hurt you more than help you.

If you want to start on your own, cardio is our friend. 20-30 minutes of cardio will help get you started. If you want to lift weights here a sample of one of my leg day work outs.

Plyo Leg day A

Hack squats 4 sets of 8-12 reps (light weight)

Goblet sumo squats 4 sets 25 reps (light weight)

Leg press 3 sets 8-12 reps (light weights)

jump squats 3 sets 15 reps (body weight)

Leg extensions 3 sets 12-15 reps (light weights)

Stretch

WARNING: This work out is definitely for more advanced people, so if you want to try it start with ONLY 1-2 sets of each exercise. This work out was specifically made for me and my level.

Supplements:

CLA, Fish Oil, L-carnitine, Chronium Picolinate, Vitamin D, B-1, Selenium 200mcg, StressCare, and Digestive Enzymes.

After starting the Selinium and b-1 I felt a bit better, more energy better sleep. And I also started Cytomel about 3 weeks ago, the difference is AMAZING! I’m currently on Levothyroxine 88MCG and Cytomel 5mg.

This is what worked for me, as you ladies know, we are all different and react different to Hashimotos and have very different limitations. I’m not an expert and don’t claim to be one. I’m simply sharing my story in hopes to help or inspire others.

Mrs. Fitz

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sharing for Inspiration

  1. My neck was swelling, and I was gaining weight when I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s. I’ve been on varying doses of Levothyroxine ever since, and it’s been about 35 years now. I’m currently taking .125mg per day, and I’m having no problems with weight, (And I eat a lot of ice cream!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

