13 weeks out

I decided to start a diary of my prep for my first bikini competition in November. I’m currently 13 weeks out and feeling good. I started at 16 weeks and reverse dieted for a little bit because my calories and macros were to low to continue cutting and make any more progress, my body would have eventually started storing fat and that’s the opposite of what I want.

My hubby is a certified PT so he is helping me, and pretty much coaching me to get my body to do what I want it to. He has competed before so he has the experience and knows me so well that I think we can succeed with my goals.

If you follow my blog, you know that I have been recently diagnosed with Hashimotos Thyroiditis which has been a relief and a curse. I have a really hard time losing body fat, and I mean really hard, but I’m not giving up. This is the reason I decided to do a competition, because I don’t want my disease to hold me back from what I want in life. I have made changes to my diet since I was diagnosed and have seen improvements in weight and in my moods, which leads me to believe my body is ready to go on this 16 week journey.

So far I’ve lost 2.5 lbs, and according to my husband we are on track, which makes me super excited! But this whole thing is not just about losing the weight(body fat) its about beating my disease, beating the nay sayers, my self doubt and going through with something I decided I wanted to do.

This week has been rough on my body, mostly because my disease makes me very tired and with a full time job, I have to go to the gym at 4am to get my training in. The repeated early mornings and difficult times falling asleep (another lovely side effect)  leaves me exhausted, but that’s not going to stop me. I’m adjusting by making my Friday workout, a night work out so I can catch up on some sleep.

As far as diet goes, I practice “If it fits your macros” (IIFYM) dieting so I have been pretty happy with my food this week. We are also carb cycling right now and my body seems to like it. I have high carb days and then a few low days and then on the weekend BOOM! I get a big re-feed ( super high carb) day, which obviously is my favorite! I really hate eating the same food everyday so I only meal prep for 2-3 days and try to switch it up. When I try new things and they are delicious, I post my recipes on here, and they are always gluten-free.

Processed with Moldiv
08/26/2015

 

Lastly for cardio, I’m currently only doing it 4 days a week and fasted. I think hubby said next week we will increase it, which I don’t mind gives me time to catch up on my Netflix! haha!

Sleepy and excited for what’s to come!

Mrs. Fitz

Leave a Reply

