3 steps forward, 1/2 a step back…

3 months ago I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis, I thought it was the end of the world as I knew it. Everything I read was negative, depressing and heartbreaking. then I found Dr. Wentz’s book( Lifestyle Interventions for finding and treating the root cause) and that gave me some hope of putting my condition to remission.

I started out by cutting gluten, dairy and soy from my diet. Let me tell you this wasn’t easy at all. I stuck with no gluten and dairy but avoiding soy was a little more difficult. The fact that a lot of gluten free products still contain soy is the reason why its hard to avoid. You have to look really hard for the no soy, no gluten no dairy products and I was a bit discouraged. I also learned, the hard way, that white bread is NOT gluten free! For some reason I had it in my head that it was. After 3 days of eating it, I felt awful, tired, foggy and just drained. That’s when I knew that gluten DOES affect my thyroid and makes my antibodies attack my body. As for dairy I have slowly reintroduced it in my diet with small amounts and I felt fine.

When I first got diagnosed my TPOs antibodies (Thyroid Peroxidase Antibody: This antibody is the one that is usually high in autoimmune thyroid conditions like Hashimoto’s. It is also known as microsomal antibody) were 440, and they were at 395 just last week! In order to be in remission you need to be under 100 which is exactly what I’m aiming for. Unfortunately my TgAb’s ( Thyroglobulin Antibodies:These aren’t seen high as often as TPO Ab. They are usually ordered when thyroid lab results seem strange because these antibodies can interfere with thyroid hormone production) went up by a few numbers. I have read hundreds of articles and have found no explanation, my doctor even said it was neither good nor bad. According to an article I read on Hashimotos healing website, the number of antibodies doesn’t necessarily mean that your getting better or worse. It all really depends on how you feel and other factors like how many “soldiers” are attacking your body at the moment.

It is important to know that these antibodies do not attack your thyroid they merely signal, and inform the immune system to attack, which can end in the destruction of the thyroid. My hope is that according to this article these numbers don’t necessarily mean that my Hashimotos is severe or mild, it all depends on the strength of the “soldiers” or the immune system. If they are weak and small in numbers then it doesn’t matter how many antibodies you have because they can’t perform the task of destroying the “bad guys”.

I’m going to continue my gluten free diet, dairy free and I’m going to commit to soy free and see if there is any more improvements in 3 months. I’m also going to try some new supplement’s, Selenium 200mg and Digestive Ultra Enzymes suggested by Dr. Wentz. I’m hoping to see more improvements in my energy and foggy brain. I’ll keep you updated!

c3213a5e4fe788d7cdcfcc5ef09d0804

Stay Positive!

Mrs.Fitz

Resources:

https://www.hashimotoshealing.com/understanding-hashimotos-antibodies/

http://www.thyroidlifestyle.com/#!page4/cfvg

2 thoughts on “3 steps forward, 1/2 a step back…

Leave a Reply

