Flexible Dieting ” IIFYM”

a5293db0854148aed5be5caa749acd2eI’ve tried many diets over the past 5 years, including the Keto diet, Paleo diet, fat free diet and a low carb diet which always makes you BINGE! Allowing yourself one cheat meal NEVER works! After failing time after time and seeing small but insignificant results I discovered Flexible dieting with my hubby’s help.

Flexible dieting or IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros) is not a diet but a way of life. It allows you to eat the things you love along side of clean, whole foods. This really helps with the crazy binging cycles I used to go on because I’m not restricted. With my current condition I’m already restricted from gluten foods which you may think is no biggie, but once you CAN’T have that one Oreo, or slice of toast or even Jimmy Johns because of their bread, it becomes a big deal. Yes, there is gluten free this and that, but trust me when I tell you, Its not the SAME! 38d9efd6039aeaf03492bd2cd05d5ec4

To start you need to figure out your macros with the help of a macro calculator or the help of a certified personal trainer (like my hubby). Life just becomes all kinds of better and not so stressful. You will have a daily goal of macronutrients (carbs, Fat, and Protein) to hit each day, as far as how you do it, its up to you. Now I’m not saying eat cheeseburgers and ice cream all day, but If you save some room you can have that bowl of Froyo at the end of the day or that Oreo cookie for dessert.

I think the reason why IIFYM has become so popular in the fitness community is because it works! Its way easier to follow a plan when your not restricted to only chicken and asparagus all day everyday. I personally hate eating the same thing everyday, I’m not a creature of habit and on the weekends I tend to crave different foods then my usual ones. By using IIFYM I have not binged in months because I don’t feel restricted! Its like Freedom while still achieving my goals!

Give it a try, and let me know how it works for you!

Mrs. Fitz

Resources:

http://iifym.com/iifym-calculator/

http://breakingmuscle.com/nutrition/why-what-you-think-about-flexible-dieting-iifym-is-wrong

3 thoughts on “Flexible Dieting ” IIFYM”

Leave a Reply

