Your body needs H20!

Everyday I try to drink at least 1 gallon of water, I carry a jug with me everywhere I go and get the funniest looks from people. I always think to myself, what’s so strange about drinking a gallon of water? We live in the desert! More specifically Phoenix, AZ, one of the hottest states in the country!

10421453_390641904442585_7501088915934442291_n

So, here are some benefits of drinking water versus soda, power drinks, coffee or teas.

It has healing powers!

Ok, so I’m not saying its going to magically cure you. But it can cure common conditions like headaches, fatigue, and joint pain.  Sounds like a good enough reason to drink more water to me. It also helps flush toxins out of your body that you intake everyday.

It also helps reduce fat!

That’s right water makes you thinner! Mostly because we always confuse thirst with hunger, so next time you think you hungry, drink a glass of water and BOOM, hunger gone! because your body was asking for water.

It helps with your metabolism!

Even if your eating clean and as healthy as a machine, if your not consuming water your body cant use the nutrients to grow your gains! Your body uses water to transport nutrients through your bloodstream to your muscles and organs. Also the less pleasant use of water is that it transports waste out of your body as well. So more water equals more trips to the restroom and as annoying as this can be, its very good for your body ( less waste sticking around inside of you)

It helps you avoid dehydration!

Our bodies can become dehydrated even in the winter months, and considering I live in the middle of a fire pit it happens all the time here. Drinking soft drinks, and teas can dehydrate you even more. They are considered diuretics, meaning they steal water from your body more than they provide. For every soft drink you consume you need to drink 8-12 glasses of water to make up for the loss. That’s insane! They don’t quench your thirst, they contain ridiculous amounts of sugar and other harmful chemicals to your body. Some can even remove rust from metal surfaces, even though you cant feel the horrible effects doesn’t mean its not happening inside your body. I could go on and on about soft drinks but I think we get the point.

So, next time you see someone carrying around a giant jug of water, maybe you should look at yourself and ask “why don’t I drink that much water?”

Mrs. Fitz

 

 

Resources:

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/clark2.htm

http://www.mayoclinic.org/healthy-lifestyle/nutrition-and-healthy-eating/in-depth/water/art-20044256?pg=1

2 thoughts on “Your body needs H20!

  1. Love “live in the middle of a fire pit”! I have stopped drinking sodas! It’s been hard but I’m doing it and am very happy with getting rid of putting that crap in my body. However, I do like a cup of green tea from time to time. I heard it’s actually beneficial. What do u think?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

